Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

World at War: Eisenbach Gap» Forums » Rules

Subject: Everyone Can Opp Fires At the Begining of Turns rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lars Ericson
United States
Columbia
MD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I played WaW:EG a couple times last weekend with a friend and we noticed something odd about Opportunity Fire and had to check the rule book several times to make sure we were reading it right.

When a turn ends, all of the Ops Complete markers are removed from all of the units on the board, correct? So that means that during the first activatino of the next turn, everyone on the enemy side has the ability to conduct Opportunity Fire. This seems to make going first in a turn a rather risky situation and one that feels to disrupt a continuity between turns. Am I reading this correct?

Another related issue that on the first turn of the entire game, the enemy of the first activation can Opp Fire as well, including those scenarios that have a supposed "Surprise Attack" special rule. Is this also correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lericson20 wrote:
So that means that during the first activatino of the next turn, everyone on the enemy side has the ability to conduct Opportunity Fire.
And do nothing else all that Turn, yes. It's called 'ambushing', if you do it right. It's called 'wasting your fire' if you don't.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Whitney
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wulf Corbett wrote:
lericson20 wrote:
So that means that during the first activatino of the next turn, everyone on the enemy side has the ability to conduct Opportunity Fire.
And do nothing else all that Turn, yes. It's called 'ambushing', if you do it right. It's called 'wasting your fire' if you don't.


Actually, they're not prevented from doing anything else for the remainder of the turn, but they're Ops Complete until their formation counter is pulled. During the 'Housekeeping' phase of a formation impulse the Ops Complete counters are also removed for the activated formation. That allows a unit that previously Op Fired to conduct other actions within the same game turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kronovan wrote:
Actually, they're not prevented from doing anything else for the remainder of the turn, but they're Ops Complete until their formation counter is pulled.
Ah, right, yes. You do get a lot of op fire chances in this game, don't you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Parrott
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It does seem odd to the flow at times, but the way it works it guarantees that every unit will be able to at least opportunity fire in each turn if their formation doesn't activate. It also makes shoot and scoot tactics work when the timing is right. NATO has an easier time of this than the WP with their better chances of activations.

Having the last activation can be a big deal which makes passing more valuable then it seems at first glance but still risky. The new tournament rules removed passing though so that becomes a moot point if you are playing with the updated rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The first to activate is the first to fire. That's a good thing after moving your BMP's into firing positions on the previous turn.

If Ops Complete ,markers were not removed at the end of the turn, the Soviets would almost never get to Oportunity Fire at all, because the scenarios generally require them to move, and they get only one activation. If the Soviets started the turn with Ops Complete markers, NATO could move twice before the Soviets could respond in any way. While the Marker removal phase applies to both sides, it's really like another 1/2 activation for the Soviets.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Ericson
United States
Columbia
MD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Good points. I realize it is a trade-off but it feels a bit gamey to me.

No one commented on the other part of the OP - the fact that the scenarios with a "surprise" initial round by the Soviets still allows Opp Fire from the Americans. I think I'll probably try the scenarios with a house rule disallowing Opp Fire on the opening turn for those specific scenarios.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Parrott
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think surprise is a bit of misnomer in this case. It's just a game element to ensure the attacker gets the first impulse AND gets an activation on the first turn, otherwise the game could be 1 turn shorter than it already is. NATO knows they are coming and is in prepared positions waiting for the first appearance of the WP armor.

A more interesting take on the scenario is in Death of the 1st Panzer where a West German mech company is in road march when the WP tanks begin to appear. The WG commander is praying for an early activation so he can get his forces into cover. The surprise factor is more of a real surprise in this scenario though the WG can engage in op fire too but may not be deployed to take optimal advantage of it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.