Michael Ayers
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mb
Hi everybody, I’m new to this site.

I’m a university student in the UK. In a few weeks I will be taking part in an international mentoring scheme. This means that I will get assigned a small group (4-6) of university students (from anywhere in the world) who have just arrived in the UK, who I don’t know and who don’t know each other. The aim of the scheme is to help them settle into life at university and in the UK.

My question is this. What games would you recommend as a good icebreaker for the welcome party when my group meets for the first time?

I think the games should be simple to understand, quick to play and have an element of ‘getting to know the other players’ about them. A game that could introduce anything about British life would also be a bonus!

Thanks for the help.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Hagenauer jr.
Germany
Surheim
Germany
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I´d say Dixit is the right game for this.
You learn a lot about the others hearing what associations they have to the pictures.
But it is not so obvious and boring as it is in games like Personality or ego.

But you also can learn a lot about people by just playing Pickomino for example. Who takes a risk? Who is more interrested in stealing worms form the others than in collecting his onw? Who gets angry if he has bad luck? ...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr. Stabs
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb