Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Tyler
United States
Orem
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Sadly, the subject line seems to sum up the philosophy of the partnership I've been playing Tichu against for the past four months.

If you are like me you play games to have fun, to socialize, to relax, to challenge your mind, etc. You likely don't often encounter players in your group who play games seemingly to see how much they can get away with.

Why am I mentioning this in a session report? Well, during today's session I finally confirmed what my partner and I had suspected for the past few weeks, that our opponents are cheaters.

Four months ago I taught them Tichu during our lunch hour at work. I suggested that each of them should pair up with an experienced player to balance out the teams, but they insisted on being a partnership. My partner and I usually won (as would be expected with our experience versus their newbiness). We gave them pointers and they gradually improved their play.

Both of them play poker on occasion and they were able to use some of their card counting skills and "reading" the opponent to their advantage.

Eventually, they were winning just as often as we were. The progression was so gradual that neither my partner nor I realized the specific point during our months of play when they started winning most of the time.

One thing we did realize was that they seemed to get more bombs than the law of averages would allow. When I play Tichu with my family bombs are a fairly rare occurrence, one showing up maybe every third hand. These guys seemed to be getting bombs almost every hand. At one point we started keeping track of our bombs versus their bombs and the count was 24 for them and 4 for us.