Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

1805: Sea of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Expedition's and Transports' Readiness rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Iván Juan Camps
Spain
Barcelona
Barcelona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens exactly when a Transport or/and a Expedition reaches the state of Ready?
The ships are placed inside a port in the sheet? Then the float goes again to Start?
How can a block participate in an Invasion from the ready state without making a transition movement to a Patrol Zone in order to execute the invasion? (I don't see any word on this in the Rulebook).

Any clarification on this points would be much appreciated...

Thanks.

Iva.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Fry
United States
Temperance
MI
flag msg tools
designer
badge
My father (circa 1945). He navigated B-24's (5thAF 22ndBG) in the Pacific Theater.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When an Expedition or the Transport block reaches the end of the track it goes to one of the applicable ports.

The British Expeditions may only be placed in Portsmouth or Plymouth.
The French Transport may only be placed in Brest, Rochefort, or Toulon.
(See 5.2.1 in the Manpower rules)

Move the block to the appropriate port on the map.

An Expedition or the Transport is just like a fleet block in that ships have to be assigned to it before it can sail. (See 7.2) 20.2 is also an important rule regarding Expeditions and the French Transport.

Hope that helps.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iván Juan Camps
Spain
Barcelona
Barcelona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
philfry wrote:
When an Expedition or the Transport block reaches the end of the track it goes to one of the applicable ports.

The British Expeditions may only be placed in Portsmouth or Plymouth.
The French Transport may only be placed in Brest, Rochefort, or Toulon.
(See 5.2.1 in the Manpower rules)

Move the block to the appropriate port on the map.

An Expedition or the Transport is just like a fleet block in that ships have to be assigned to it before it can sail. (See 7.2) 20.2 is also an important rule regarding Expeditions and the French Transport.

Hope that helps.


But my doubt is: how it is carried an invasion? Do the blocks go right to the patrol zone of the port being invaded?

In the INVASION PROCEDURE it says: Only the French Transport and British Expeditions blocks may conduct invasions. Invasions must be conducted from the inshore portion of the Patrol Zone...
...An expedition or Transport that successfully completes an invasion is removed from the Patrol Zone and placed on the Expedition/Transport track at the start position. Ships that were escorting the invasion fleet should be placed in unusued fleet block which is placed on the map in the Inshore portion of the Patrol Zone of the invaded port.


Also is there any reference of all of this in the Extended Example of Play, as to serve me as a hint to play it right?... I haven't read it yet...

And it's there any restriction as for which ships to use in order to assign them to transports/expeditions?

And another doubt of mine is how it's conducted exactly the play in order to enter or leave the North Atlantic box for the British? When the British blocks just enter that zone then they go direcly to the box?

Sorry for that plenty of questions, but I'm gonna start a game today, and no one of us have played this yet...

Thanks.

Iva.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Fry
United States
Temperance
MI
flag msg tools
designer
badge
My father (circa 1945). He navigated B-24's (5thAF 22ndBG) in the Pacific Theater.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ivappanther wrote:

But my doubt is: how it is carried an invasion? Do the blocks go right to the patrol zone of the port being invaded?


No, they have to sortie from their home port and sail to the port they are invading.

Ivappanther wrote:
Also is there any reference of all of this in the Extended Example of Play, as to serve me as a hint to play it right?... I haven't read it yet...


Yes. On page 24 of the rules.

Ivappanther wrote:
And it's there any restriction as for which ships to use in order to assign them to transports/expeditions?


Any Allied ships can be part of the Transport fleet. Any British ships can be part of the Expedition. (But remember a frigate is not considered a "ship" in the rules.)

Ivappanther wrote:
And another doubt of mine is how it's conducted exactly the play in order to enter or leave the North Atlantic box for the British? When the British blocks just enter that zone then they go direcly to the box?


I'm not quite sure what you are asking here. When British blocks enter the Trans Atlantic Transit track, they are rotated to show a destination (either 1, 2, 3, or 4) on the top edge of the block. When they leave the track, they are placed on the corresponding hex with that number.

Hope that helps.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Luta
United States
Henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Expedition blocks are a little different than the regular British fleets in terms of setting destination. Instead of the A-B-C-D destinations, they are simply designated as going to 'Canada' or 'Jamaica' as per the block labels. If the expedition has instead been ordered to the Barbary Coast, then no preset destination designation is required, since the British only use this for trans-Atlantic movement.

Note also in a previous thread, it was discussed that while nothing in the rules prevents sending out a British expedition before ordered by the Admiralty events, there is really no reason to do so. So normally, an expedition is merely kept in ready state until required, at which time the block can be placed and ships assigned, along with a trans-Atlantic destination if appropriate.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iván Juan Camps
Spain
Barcelona
Barcelona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, thanks to both of you, your answers completely resolve my doubt about transport/expedition. (That is, when in ready state they go to port and then sail to destination).
What I was referring in the question of the 'North Atlantic Box' is a mistake of mine, I was really referring to the North Sea Fleet Box, as to say when and how blocks can enter to this box and when and how they can exit. I guess that if a block enters the zone of hexagons marked with a little ship they enter the box and viceversa to exit.

Thanks again.

Iva.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Fry
United States
Temperance
MI
flag msg tools
designer
badge
My father (circa 1945). He navigated B-24's (5thAF 22ndBG) in the Pacific Theater.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ivappanther wrote:
Ok, thanks to both of you, your answers completely resolve my doubt about transport/expedition. (That is, when in ready state they go to port and then sail to destination).
What I was referring in the question of the 'North Atlantic Box' is a mistake of mine, I was really referring to the North Sea Fleet Box, as to say when and how blocks can enter to this box and when and how they can exit. I guess that if a block enters the zone of hexagons marked with a little ship they enter the box and viceversa to exit.

Thanks again.

Iva.


Actually the North Sea Fleet Box cannot be entered by blocks or ships that don't begin there. The North Sea Fleet Box represents the ships watching Texel and the Batavian Navy.

The ships that begin the game there, remain in the box until released by the random event "Napoleon Strips the Dutch Navy". Also see rule 14.7.

Hope that helps.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iván Juan Camps
Spain
Barcelona
Barcelona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually is any block due to be placed there at the start of the game?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Fry
United States
Temperance
MI
flag msg tools
designer
badge
My father (circa 1945). He navigated B-24's (5thAF 22ndBG) in the Pacific Theater.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ivappanther wrote:
Actually is any block due to be placed there at the start of the game?


Nope. Just the North Sea Fleet ships and Admiral Keith. They are just placed on the board in the holding box.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stuart
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmb
markluta wrote:
So normally, an expedition is merely kept in ready state until required, at which time the block can be placed and ships assigned...


Can an expedition be kept ready but the block not placed at a port? I was under the impression once it is ready it is moved off the track and "placed on the port display"(5.2.1) ?

I've been keeping them at the last stage of preparation(where the French one starts) and applying the necessary manpower to make them ready when they're needed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Fry
United States
Temperance
MI
flag msg tools
designer
badge
My father (circa 1945). He navigated B-24's (5thAF 22ndBG) in the Pacific Theater.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gamesterinns wrote:
markluta wrote:
So normally, an expedition is merely kept in ready state until required, at which time the block can be placed and ships assigned...


Can an expedition be kept ready but the block not placed at a port? I was under the impression once it is ready it is moved off the track and "placed on the port display"(5.2.1) ?

I've been keeping them at the last stage of preparation(where the French one starts) and applying the necessary manpower to make them ready when they're needed.


Once an expedition/transport is ready it must be assigned to a port. I normally do what you described; hold off on the last manpower until I know exactly where I wish to place the block.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.