Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Cosmic Encounter» Forums » Variants

Subject: Power Of The Day -- Hydra rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gerald Katz
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HYDRA Start Turn/Expert

Has Two Encounters In One

You have the power of all-out attack. At the start of your turn, use this power to have both of your encounters at the same time. Each encounter phase is duplicated and happens at the same time. Take two ships out of the warp in Regroup, flip two destiny cards in Destiny, etc. For your alliance invitations, you need not invite the same players for each encounter nor are players who do ally obligated to ally with you on both encounters or even with the same number of ships. If there are two different defenders, either may be asked to ally on the other encounter on either side. If the defender is the same for both encounters, he need not invite the same players for each encounter nor are players who do ally obligated to ally with him on both encounters or even with the same number of ships. If the defender is the same for both encounters and has only one Encounter Card, he must get a new hand as if out of Encounter Cards. All cards played by other players can only affect one of the encounters of their choice. All cards you play may affect one or both of the encounters at your discretion. Therefore, you are permitted to play only one Encounter Card and need not get a new hand if you only have one. If another player's power mentions it can only be used once per encounter or must be invoked, it can only affect one of the encounters. If you have another power that can be used only once per encounter or must be invoked, you may have it affect one or both encounters at your discretion.

If you are zapped and win the encounter, you may have a second encounter.

History: The multi-headed Hydras are able to battle more than one opponent at a time. While others must split their resources, the Hydras' greater efficiency assures them victory.

Do Not Use With Bermuda, Clown, Or Fate

FLARE

Planning
Wild: As main player you may play two Attack Cards. When they are revealed, they are added together as if they were one Attack Card.

Resolution
Super: At the end of your turn you may have another. You may only play this card once on your original turn.

Commentary: This is a rules power created by me. I've played this power once, and it worked quite well. You have great flexibility in affecting one or both encounters, but other players are limited. If the defender is the same for both encounters, he can easily be in trouble. While you can play your best cards and use your other powers in multi-power games to your greatest advantage to affect both encounters, the defender cannot. He must either put everything behind one encounter and hope for the best for the other or split what he does have between the two.

Remember, though, that Hydra's two encounters is his entire turn. Instead of having to win the first encounters to get a second one, the power guarantees the player his second one by having it at the same time as his first. The disadvantage to the power is that it is an offensive player only power. For a lot of game time you are at one less power than everyone else. Hydra/Machine is quite powerful, debatable to be considered a super combo. Hydra/Mesmer is nice for Timegashes where you do get your two encounters in one since Timegash specifies as if starting your turn.

Gerald Katz
Don't forget to tip the Butler!

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mi Myma
United States
Fountain Valley
California
flag msg tools
Why is there no Word Games Forum or Subdomain?
badge
There should be a Word Games Subdomain, or at least a Word Games Forum!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Interesting. Might be a bit weaker than the Machine overall, but not bad.

I think the Super should be to have three encounters at the same time.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerald Katz
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It was my original intent, but I suppose it should be specified on the power card. If you only have one encounter card at the start of your turn you may get a new hand if you want, just not obligated to. This allows you the option to play two different encounter cards for the encounters or still only play one for both.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.