Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Dominion: Prosperity» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule question: Bridge, Quarry, Talisman and Mint rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonas Milke
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

somebody asked an interesting question in the German Dominion Forum Dominionblog.de:

1. I play Bridge. Mint costs 4 now.

2. I play Quarry. Mint costs 2 now.

3. I play Talisman.

4. I buy a Mint. Do I get a second Mint (because of Talisman) or has the Talisman to be discarted first?

I guess that are two things happening in the same moment, so i can chose which one i want to happen first. But i'm not sure about that - thanks for your help!


Btw sorry for my bad written English...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Zendo fan, Columbus Blue Jackets fan, Dominion Fan.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spielfrosch wrote:
Hi all,

somebody asked an interesting question in the German Dominion Forum Dominionblog.de:

1. I play Bridge. Mint costs 4 now.

2. I play Quarry. Mint costs 2 now.

3. I play Talisman.

4. I buy a Mint. Do I get a second Mint (because of Talisman) or has the Talisman to be discarted first?

I guess that are two things happening in the same moment, so i can chose which one i want to happen first. But i'm not sure about that - thanks for your help!

You are correct. They both trigger on "when buy" so you get to decide in what order they happen.

Note that you must Trash the Talisman and Quarry in play, you don't merely Discard them.

Royal Seal is different from Talisman because it triggers on "when gain." A Buy happens like this: You buy a card (by paying for it) which results in you gaining it. The buy happens first, so "when buy" effects trigger before "when gain" effects.
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas Milke
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Jeff for the answer and thanks Donald for the thumb.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gf1024 wrote:
Also, how do you know who gave thumbsup?

Click on the little green number next to the thumb button
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R. O. Schaefer
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Let's modify the example a bit:
1. I play Royal Seal.

2. I buy a Mint.

This is covered by the rules: You can not put the Mint you bought on your deck, because the Royal Seal is already trashed.


Now some further modification:

1. I play Bridge. Mint costs 4 now.

2. I play Quarry. Mint costs 2 now.

3. I play Talisman.

4. I play Royal Seal.

5. I buy a Mint.

As said above you may decide to use Talisman before trashing it.
So you gain another Mint. Royal Seal should be in play at this moment too. Can you decide to put this second gained Mint on your deck?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Zendo fan, Columbus Blue Jackets fan, Dominion Fan.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Califax wrote:
Now some further modification:

1. I play Bridge. Mint costs 4 now.

2. I play Quarry. Mint costs 2 now.

3. I play Talisman.

4. I play Royal Seal.

5. I buy a Mint.

As said above you may decide to use Talisman before trashing it.
So you gain another Mint. Royal Seal should be in play at this moment too. Can you decide to put this second gained Mint on your deck?


I would say yes.

Buy Mint1
(Talisman when-buy): Gain Mint2
(Royal Seal when-gain): Put Mint2 on top
(Mint1 when-buy): Trash Talisman, Quarry, Royal Seal
Gain Mint1 from Buy

Plus, you still have 3 coins and a buy, and everything costs 1 less.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Di Toro
United States
Virginia Beach
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jeffwolfe wrote:

Plus, you still have 3 coins and a buy, and everything costs 1 less. everyone's head at the table just exploded. Game over.


Fixed that for you.

Thought I got away from elaborate timing rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carc >> BSG
United States
Topeka
Kansas
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
karrde wrote:
jeffwolfe wrote:

Plus, you still have 3 coins and a buy, and everything costs 1 less. everyone's head at the table just exploded. Game over.


Fixed that for you.

Thought I got away from elaborate timing rules.


Higher margins are achieved through good timing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Knutsen
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
According to the given rules, Califax is right. However, this is so confusing that there's no way I'd be able to get people to understand it and remember it. I would say it was a mistake to introduce the rule that the buy happens before the gain when you buy a card. Instead buying should just be a special way of gaining, so that when you buy you also gain.

That would mean you could put the Mint on top of the deck when Royal Seal is in play, but it would also eliminate all these confusing timing issues.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.