Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Albion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Build action and Picts rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gunter D'HOOGH
Belgium
WESPELAAR
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Build question:

If you take a build action and there are face down Pict tokens, one is turned face up. If the "peace" side turns up nothing happens, otherwise it's war.

But if all Picts are already face up (so according to the rules they are on their "war" side in that case because the peaceful ones should already have been taken from the board) we play it's war after all!

1. Is this correct?

2. And if NOT why are face up Picts left on the board?



And another question:

If I have a building on stage 3, can I still use actions from an earlier stage? So when I have a settlement on stage III can I still use the capabilties of the stage II settlement and take a new settler/legionnaire from my play area??? We play that this cannot be done anymore!

Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Inno Van
United States
San Francisco/East Bay
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) No, once all the tokens in an area are turned over no more attacks happen, regardless of the number of tokens already face up.

You can move with a legion a face down token ...including to an area that already has all its tokens face up. But you won't know if it's a peace or a war token when you move it...and someone will have to build a new layer to flip the token and trigger the attack check.

Also remember, level 4 settlements are impreverious to attacks and can never be reduced back down regardless of an attack's strength.

2) The face up tokens are left on the board because they are the tie breaker. If multiple players finish their third level 4 settlement in the same round (which is quite common), the tied players add up the number of attack tokens in the 3 regions they built their level 4 settlements. Highest total red tokens (including those printed on the board) wins the game.

3) Are you stacking your levels on top of each other as you add them to each building? If you're doing this, the answer seems obvious.

Once you add a legion or a settler to the board, it stays on the board (unless you loose a level from one of your settlements from an attack). As you add levels, you add the new settlement piece on top, adding to the stack. You do not remove the settler/legion just because you've added a new piece to the top of the building stack --those levels underneath still provide their settler or legion that you chose earlier. By the time you have all 3 settlements to level 2, you should have all 4 settlers and 3 legions on the board. Note that there is one extra legion for each player. Set these aside in a baggie as a spare piece --that 4th legion for each player actually unbalances the game and is not what the designer intended.

Note also if you loose a level 3 from a settlement, it has a cascading effect where you have to downgrade back a non-settlement building from level 3 back to level 2 as well. (But when you rebuild level 3 for a settlement you can once again upgrade any non-settlement building from level 2 to level 3 again --which typically is used to undo the damage)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gunter D'HOOGH
Belgium
WESPELAAR
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Innovan wrote:
1) No, once all the tokens in an area are turned over no more attacks happen, regardless of the number of tokens already face up.

You can move with a legion a face down token ...including to an area that already has all its tokens face up. But you won't know if it's a peace or a war token when you move it...and someone will have to build a new layer to flip the token and trigger the attack check.

Also remember, level 4 settlements are impreverious to attacks and can never be reduced back down regardless of an attack's strength.

2) The face up tokens are left on the board because they are the tie breaker. If multiple players finish their third level 4 settlement in the same round (which is quite common), the tied players add up the number of attack tokens in the 3 regions they built their level 4 settlements. Highest total red tokens (including those printed on the board) wins the game.

3) Are you stacking your levels on top of each other as you add them to each building? If you're doing this, the answer seems obvious.

Once you add a legion or a settler to the board, it stays on the board (unless you loose a level from one of your settlements from an attack). As you add levels, you add the new settlement piece on top, adding to the stack. You do not remove the settler/legion just because you've added a new piece to the top of the building stack --those levels underneath still provide their settler or legion that you chose earlier. By the time you have all 3 settlements to level 2, you should have all 4 settlers and 3 legions on the board. Note that there is one extra legion for each player. Set these aside in a baggie as a spare piece --that 4th legion for each player actually unbalances the game and is not what the designer intended.

Note also if you loose a level 3 from a settlement, it has a cascading effect where you have to downgrade back a non-settlement building from level 3 back to level 2 as well. (But when you rebuild level 3 for a settlement you can once again upgrade any non-settlement any building from level 2 to level 3 again --which typically is used to undo the damage)


I thank you very much, Innovan!

My gaming group just left and we played the game the right way! So I'm very glad to read your reply!

Kind regards,

Günter

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernd Keller
Germany
Dietzenbach
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Innovan wrote:
...Note that there is one extra legion for each player. Set these aside in a baggie as a spare piece --that 4th legion for each player actually unbalances the game and is not what the designer intended.


The extra legionaire is actually a mistake our factory made. Maybe they wanted to give us an early christmas present or something like that. ;)

o/
Bernd
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.