Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

War of the Ring (First Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fellowship movement question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Downing
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do players have to play the honor system when announcing their fellowship?
Obviously there are only a few real strategic routes the fellowship should venture, but what has other players out there done for this. Do people write down their fellowship location, just so when the Shadow player makes sure that they are telling the truth.

Thanks in advanced!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds like you don't understand the rules. There's no honor system required. When you "move", you advance the counter 1 space on the movement track. Only when the Fellowship declares or is revealed do you have to DECIDE which way you went, and how far.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Walkingshaw
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to add to Jim's reply: When you decide, if the movement counter is on N, you just move the fellowship figure to a new location up to N spaces away and reset the movement counter to 0.

The counter keeps track of how far you are from the fellowship figure's current location, but you don't actually have to choose which way to go until the next time you move the figure, when you declare or are revealed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh S.
United States
Newark
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
right. and not to beat a dead horse, but just as an example, if the Fellowship track is on step 3 and gets revealed when they move a fourth time, they decide to go the "non Moria" way. the FP Player originally wanted to go through Moria, since it's shorter, but then they didn't want an extra hunt tile to be drawn, so they decided to go through the mountains. this is a fairly common scenario.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly Fischer
United States
Ellendale
North Dakota
flag msg tools
badge
The truth is always in the last place you look
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to the game as well. Does the level of the guide of the fellowship come into play when moving the fellowship?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only when taking a Hunt casualty.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly Fischer
United States
Ellendale
North Dakota
flag msg tools
badge
The truth is always in the last place you look
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. Is the highest level of a companion only used for movement when they leave the fellowship?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Downing
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification guys!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
KeyserSoze wrote:
Is the highest level of a companion only used for movement when they leave the fellowship?

For movement, yes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.