Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Tammany Hall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ward bonuses rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Foster
United States
Mount Laurel
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Got a chance to play for the 1st time this past weekend with a group of friends and ran into a little rules question that we weren't quite sure about.

The rulebook states in the section for ward bonuses during an election that the winner of wards 1 and 2 gets to "place an immigrant
cube of their choice from the supply in any legitimate ward".

We weren't totally sure whether "supply" was referring to the cubes in the Castle Garden or the cubes still in the bag as no other mention of the supply was made during the rules. We ended up just digging through the bag for a cube of the color of our choice whenever we did the voting on those wards. Was this the right way to play things?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We also dug through the bag. I hope that is correct. T
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Murphy
Australia
Pyrmont
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Supply is used elsewhere in the rules to refer to the general stock of political favour chips (permitting any to be taken), so I'd say the same was intended for the chips. I have a dim recollection that the game was taught to us like that, also.

B>
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Michael
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bruce is correct (again).

Take a chip of any color you like.

Take a cube of any color you like. You are not limited by what was available in Castle Garden.

When taking a cube, place it in any ward in play you like.
Sometimes it's best to put it in the ward you just won to keep it safe for the time being. Sometimes it's best to put it in another ward where you will be involved in the upcoming election in order to change the voting block and allow you to use chips there that you couldn't have used before placing the cube.

Thanks for playing and I hope you enjoy Tammany Hall.

Max

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Michael
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for purchasing Tammany Hall.

There seem to be several related concerns here.
Hopefully this will help:

1. Castle Garden is replenished any time during a four year term it becomes empty.

2. Before the start of the next four year term, empty Castle Garden.

3. As the elections start, the winners of wards 1 and 2 may select a cube of ANY color. From the bag. From Castle Garden if you are yet to empty it etc.

4. Before starting the next four year term, make sure Castle Garden is empty and replenish it with cubes from the bag.

Enjoy Tammany Hall.

Max
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Michael
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds like it's going to a good home.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.