Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Roland W. est. 1984
Germany
Deutschland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

i am new to wargaming hobby and because my girlfriends studies something about history (restauration and conservation of archeology objects) i get confronted with history all the time. I want to read about the most importent periods of WAR in history, but as always WHERE TO START.

Which book do you think are a must-read when i comes down to the history of war. (best they are also published in german^^...)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamieson Teo
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A simple and enjoyable way is simply to head down to a bookshop or the library. Browse around and say you find something that you fancy like.. The Pacific War.. there are voluminous books and introductory books on this subject period alone. Grab the introductory, go to a corner, sit, read, sip a hot cup of coffee (if there's a cafe) and go from there.

You can search everything online, even use Google books to preview some or a publishers site like Osprey..but.. do take that walk to the bookshop or library...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roland W. est. 1984
Germany
Deutschland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
i thought maybe there are some perfect books to start with... true classics... from my girlfriend i know there are so many bad books about history that i think it is not easy to pick one
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ove Hillep
Estonia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
My interest for napoleonic era was risen when reading (and watching) Cornwell's Sharpe's series - at first in India and later on in Pennisular War. The series are also uploaded in Youtube.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Ward
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm just reading Agincourt by Juliet Barker. Loads of research and its full of fascinating background and incidental detail that brings it all to life.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide