Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Dungeons & Dragons: Castle Ravenloft Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Traps rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Owen McGarel
United States
Naperville
Illinois
flag msg tools
Just to clarify:

1. My Hero moves to an edge space in the hero phase.

2. A new tile is revealed with a black arrow.

3. A encounter card is drawn - it's a trap.

Is the trap placed on the heroes tile or the new tile with the black arrow?

Thanks in advance,

Owen
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Engard
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Typically, an Encounter card that places a trap tells you that it goes on the active Hero's tile. That means the tile that you're standing on, not the one you just revealed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Taylor
United States
Lake Forest
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Traps say to place on the tile of the active hero. Since the active hero is not on the new tile, the trap is not placed on the new tile. The trap will also activate on the hero's tile before the hero can move to another tile.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
After a quick look at Gawain's database, only came across Traps with "on the active Hero's tile" text on them, so that would be the old tile.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Think of it as springing when you ran across it. It won't activate just by looking at it :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gawain wrote:
Think of it as springing when you ran across it. It won't activate just by looking at it


I don't know, I'm pretty sure that Crushing Walls Trap kept hitting my Dwarf for looking at it funny. Him being Immobilized and all that, he sure wasn't running across it whistle .
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.