Steve Lang
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Shouldn't the rogue character be able to do something about the traps before they are set off? Maybe give rogue 50% chance to disarm the trap first? What's the point of having the rogue's spot trap ability if it's not used here?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
seb seb2
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sllang wrote:
Shouldn't the rogue character be able to do something about the traps before they are set off?


no.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Boehland
United States
Apple Valley
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Belsamoreth wrote:

no.


Too much info to take in there, Could you please shorten your response?

Anyhow, I agree, this is fine as written, and there is still a point to the rogue; there's a lot of traps that continue to activate every turn that make the rogue useful.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mara Saurio
Spain
Valencia
Valencia
flag msg tools
Logitech G25 + rFactor + XtremeRacers = pure sim racing!!!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Belsamoreth wrote:
sllang wrote:
Shouldn't the rogue character be able to do something about the traps before they are set off?

no.


BGG is a great place to make friends.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Grell
United States
Winter Haven
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, you can use XP to cancel a trap before it is even placed.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Martin
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
You could also house rule it that a rogue in the tile with the trap could mean that you spend less xp to discard the trap. Maybe make the thief roll for it to get the bonus.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Engard
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Malgamus wrote:
Also, you can use XP to cancel a trap before it is even placed.


This. Spending XP to cancel a trap card is effectively the same as disarming it before it hits, and sets a limit on the ability so that traps are still a threat. The rogue's bonus to disarming traps just makes her useful when there's a trap already on the board, and you need to get past it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M Harker

Kalamazoo
Michigan
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zelgadas wrote:
Malgamus wrote:
Also, you can use XP to cancel a trap before it is even placed.


This. Spending XP to cancel a trap card is effectively the same as disarming it before it hits, and sets a limit on the ability so that traps are still a threat. The rogue's bonus to disarming traps just makes her useful when there's a trap already on the board, and you need to get past it.


Great idea! Sounds similar to some of the special abilities in Arkham
Horror. Maybe the thief only spends 3 xp to "disarm" (ignore) a trap.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave M
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you house rule that a rogue could disarm traps before they are placed you might as well take his spring away utility and throw it in the garbage, because that is exactly what this power is best used for. A better house rule would be to allow the rogue to use spring away on his own encounter card draws as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Incao
United States
Doylestown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dm99 wrote:
If you house rule that a rogue could disarm traps before they are placed you might as well take his spring away utility and throw it in the garbage, because that is exactly what this power is best used for. A better house rule would be to allow the rogue to use spring away on his own encounter card draws as well.


Spring Away ability: the card reads "Use this power when another hero draws an encounter card".

So what you are saying is the card would be better if it read "Use this power when any hero draws an encounter card".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave M
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Exactly,
It would allow the rogue to spring away from his own encounters and not just other heroes. If someone draws the encounter: Strahd Attacks, the rogue can use this card to spring away from the fireball. However if the rogue draws Strahd Attacks he is oblivious to the attack for some reason and cannot spring away. I don't see why the rogue is caught off guard from encounters that happen during his villain phase but not other heroes.

Spring away is similar to dispel magic in the way that it allows you to avoid encounter card effects. However dispel magic is far more useful since it cancels the card completely, the rogue can only save himself and only when another hero draws the card. If the rogue could spring away from his own encounters it would make it a little more balanced with dispel magic while still being a unique power.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.