Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Craig Tyle
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
As a relative newbie, I just made my first multi-game purchase. My choices were based on what I've read on BGG. Since there are always several threads on which starter games to buy, I thought some might find it of interest to read about which games "made the cut", which did not, and why.

A few preliminaries --

1) I'm not a complete newbie. I own Columbia Games' "War of 1812", which I've played a few times with my sons, and enjoy it very much. I also own, and like, "The Battle for Hill 218", and two solitaire Victory Point Games, "Levee en Masse" and "Soviet Dawn." However, I could not by any stretch be considered a "wargamer." (My main hobby is sports simulation games.)

2) I prefer strategic games, ideally with political elements as well as military ones.

3) My historical interests are American up to the Civil War, and Europe from the mid-17th century up to World War I. (Both the ACW and WWI themselves would be "on the fence" for me.)

With that out of the way:

What made the cut:

1) Washington's War. Card-driven games seem quite popular and seem to dominate among the types of games I'm interested in (strategic, and not too long/complex). The short playing time, the fact that this is a remake of the first CDG, and the fact that the American Revolution is my biggest single historical interest clinched it. My only hesitation is that the rulebook is somewhat long and more complex than I would have thought.

2) Age of Napoleon. Another period of interest; the diplomatic element appealed to me. I was a little concerned about comments regarding the rulebook, but hopefully this will not be a problem.