Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Globalization» Forums » Rules

Subject: Debt hole? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aaron Blumenthal
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We came across a situation where a player can have no companies and still increasing debt from interest. For example, if a player takes on too much debt and cannot repay it after issuing IPOs for all owned companies, the player has remaining debt and no asset generation. In this case, has the player automatically lost?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Knudson
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
This is a rare occurrence, but it can happen. And for the sad individual who took his only company public and then lost it, he probably deserves to lose. However, there is one way out that comes to mind. Even though you cannot borrow from the bank, there is nothing preventing you from borrowing from other players, or making other arrangements. Be creative, business is business.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Kaufeld
United States
Fort Wayne
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Brian Knudson wrote:
Quote:
Even though you cannot borrow from the bank, there is nothing preventing you from borrowing from other players, or making other arrangements. Be creative, business is business.


This flexibility needs to be spelled out clearly in the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bud Leiser
United States
Apopka
Florida
flag msg tools
Yea I just mentioned feedback to another player, nothing in the rules hints at flexibility or deal making. This didn't even feel like a deal making game it seemed more like a card hoarding trick taking game. (No offense if offense felt)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.