You aren't confusing this with Luftwaffe Supply are you? There is a different card with that title that is an event I think.
I don't think so. The Luftwaffe Support card I played in our game was an event (at least it didn't say it was a combat card on the card), but in the rules it refers to it as a combat card. It's done now, but I played that as an event, rather than during a combat. I was wondering for the future. I don't have the game, so I'm not sure if it's a module misprint maybe, or I'm just confused (highly likely).