Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Dungeons & Dragons: Castle Ravenloft Board Game» Forums » General

Subject: Item Glyph of Warding rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alan Hunter
United Kingdom
Horsham
flag msg tools
If Count Strahd moves to a tile with the item Glyph of Warding does he take 1 damage. Is he classed as a monster.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Flintham
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
According to customer service he is not a monster but a villain. He looks like a bloomin' monster to me though!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Hunter
United Kingdom
Horsham
flag msg tools
Are you saying he does not take 1 damage then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
- Villains are not Monsters (but you get to attack them in the same way you would a Monster, since all the attacks say "attack a Monster").

.. so whatever that means :) Personally, I would probably let Villains be affected by the GoW. It's just one damage. It's sort of an attack, I guess.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 7 of the rulebook states:

Quote:
Villain Phase
This is the phase in which you draw and play Encounter Cards,
as well as when you activate the Villain (if the Villain is in play)
and any Monster and Trap Cards you may have.


So, I say that Villains are 'Villains' and Monsters (those entities that have been drawn from the monster deck) are 'Monsters'.

Technically, Strahd would not take damage from the Glyph.

Personally, I treat Villains and Monsters as a 'Monster' group since they are not the players and would have the Glyph work against him. It's thematically better.

Maus
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.