Popular Tags: [View All]
Vince Lupo
United States
ALEXANDRIA
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I seem to enjoy the game more 1 on 1. I feel like there's more control/player interaction. Or that it's easier to understand/track what other people are doing. But I am a relative noob to the game still. I use the keldon program but I don't own it yet. Not sure I will ever buy it as I doubt I'd ever play it with more than one of my friends anyhow as the learning curve was high for me. And usually I'm the one in my group who understands a game first.

What are other people's takes on preferred player count?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
Santa Rosa
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I like variety ;-) Solo is fun because it can be challenging, but it is a rather different animal. The 2 player (advanced) game is fun because you get to select two actions per turn and is pretty satisfying when you correctly anticipate your opponent's choices and pull off a four phase combo and you can attempt things like that you wouldnt do in a larger game because it is less riskier with two choices of your own. I like the 3 & 4 player game because you can get situations where everyone is doing a diff strategy and how that has to affect your strategy and also situations where everyone is going for the same strategy and its a race to see who does it better. I havent had the chance to play with 5 or 6 players.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If I'm being serious, 4p is a good balance of being able to see everyone's tableau within reason, but not get too analytical like the 2p games can get.

FYI, I do know of some who think RftG should only be a 2p game.