Recommend

Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Everything Else » OLD BGGBlogs (do not use)

Subject: Skill set for the Professional Gamer rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Kelly
Canada
St. Albert
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As a teacher I have to necessarily concern myself with developing skills in my students. The other day I got to wondering what skills would be required for a professional board game player. Would a certain 'real world' job be more suited to developing skills for the gaming hobby. I was thinking in particular about my field. Teachers do have many of the skills that gamers must have to succeed. Firstly, teachers have varying attention spans. I read somewhere that teachers have over two hundred attention breaks in the course of a work day. Gamers need to be able to change focus quickly to adapt to new situations as do teachers. (Interior monologue: What is player a doing? Should I try to affect this? Should I wait to see what happens? Hey, player b is doing something else. This is madness, I need to flick the lights now) Of course secondly, teachers have to be able to plan in the long range and adapt instantaneously to new situations. Things always change day to day and the year plans of September don't look anything like the what you actually did when you reflect in June. (I am going for wharf and have been since the game started, darn, player c just bought the last one, now I have to dump my corn fields and look to out build them) Thirdly teachers understand that good things happen when you take time to set up and that things can work just as well when they pop up (Wargame scenarios vs Ticket to Ride). Teacher also know a great deal about sorting through tonnes of data and strategies to get to the truth. Numbers and percentages tell so very little about what is really going on with a student, just as the massive amount of forums extolling or diminishing the trader/king opening move are worthless if you don'