Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Fooled you!
badge
Click to edit.
mbmbmbmbmb
Background:

I’ve been collecting boardgames for a couple years, a lot of it with the assistance of BGG. I consider myself a casual gamer, though I do enjoy solid mechanics - a game that does something different, something new. I find myself introducing these games to my friends and family and will usually wind up playing a game after a dinner, as we enjoy each others company along with a drink or two.

Although fairly satisfied with my modest collection, a few months back I started to think there may be one more area that I would like to explore: a train game with an economic component, something of medium weight that had some depth but wasn’t too complicated. I had enjoyed Ticket to Ride: Marklin Edition, but found it somewhat simplistic. As I began exploring the world of train games, I discovered just how great a variety of games there were to choose from that all met my initial criteria: a plethora of 18xx’s, the venerable Age of Steam, it’s toned-down successor Steam, Railroad Tycoon and it’s current equivalent Railways of the World, plus many, many more...

In the end, I decided on Railways of the World along with it’s expansions: Railways of Europe, and Railways of England and Wales. After reading a number of reviews I had what I thought was a pretty good idea of what the game had to offer, but would it really live up to all that? Would I be satisfied with my purchase many months down the line, or would it rapidly become stale, turning out to be something other than what I had expected? In this review I’ll discuss what my criteria were in choosing a train game, and whether Railways of the World met them successfully.