Subject: It's a bad idea to attack without an advantage! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Skellett
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
A wolf and a penguin could never live together, nor could a camel and a hippopotamus. That would be absurd.
badge
And the older you get, the fewer things you really love. And by the time you get to my age, maybe it's only one or two things. With me, I think it's one.
mbmbmbmbmb
(A mathematical look at melee combat)

I've just started playing this game & I think it's fantastic. I find the melee combat system really fast & simple to implement & in order to help me better understand the implications of it (& make sure I've got the rules right) I thought I would analyse it a little bit.

I'm quite new to wargames & don't have much experience with CRTs, etc. so I may use some strange language to describe things. Also, there is a chance that you guys already know everything I'm about to discuss (especially since Ancients has been around for quite a while in one format or another). Feel free to correct me if I get anything wrong or if call something a weird name or if you guys already know all this. I'll be quite explicit with the rules I'm using just in case I'm doing something incorrectly.

Here we go.

The results of melee combat are determined by comparing the Final Melee Value (FMV) of the attacking unit & the FMV of the defending unit. The attacking unit is the unit which initiates combat (i.e. actively chooses to fight). I'm going to leave out most of the details of how Final Melee Values are determined but here's a summary:

Final Melee Value (for Attacker) = 1D6 + Combat Strength Advantage* + Terrain Effects** (for Attacker) + Attack Vector

Final Melee Value (for Defender) = 1D6 + Combat Strength Advantage* + Terrain Effects** (for Defender)