Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Reil
United States
Barre
Vermont
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
OK… I do mostly Adventure or AT style games, and I have a pretty good feel for those.

We have been playing Ticket to Ride (USA w/1910 and Europe w/1912) on a friend’s copy lately and had been considering adding one of these to our collection.

However, we're actually leaning against that now. We do enjoy the game, but have played a lot of it lately and are in danger of burnout. On top of that, if we ever do really want to play, we have easy access to copies belonging to friends.

So what I’m looking for for recommendations is something with a similar depth and complexity, on the lighter side of Euro-style (which is roughly where I see TTR, though I’m not an expert, by any means).

Some specific ones I have seen come up but don’t know much about include Lost Cities and Through the Desert. Power Grid might work, too. I’ve played that once, and I like it, but I’m not sure if my wife will or not. That one’s easy, though, because we should be able to play on a friend’s copy to check it out.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Settlers of Catan with Cities and Knights?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Hall
United Kingdom
Yate
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Depending on how many players you're looking for I'd suggest Blue Moon City; it only goes up to 4 though so if you're looking for more it won't cut it. Still, it's a very nice, light euro with a similar complexity level to TTR. One of my favourite 'gateway' games.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Wurtsboro
NY
flag msg tools
admin
designer
badge
We always have time for the things we put first.
mbmbmbmbmb
Archaeology: The Card Game - set collection, card game
Stone Age - light worker placement
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt H
United States
Pekin
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb