Subject: World Domination: EMP rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Billy McBoatface
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
KGS is the #1 web site for playing go over the internet. Visit now!
badge
Yes, I really am that awesome.
mbmbmbmbmb
How much will you take out? It all depends on the strength of the EMP, doesn't it?

I'm not an expert, but at work we have a copper cage for testing our radios in a totally silent environment. I don't see why this wouldn't block an EMP as well. Lead shielding would probably work too but all you need is a good conductor, so copper mesh will work better and it's a lot lighter and easier to work with.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Barrett
United States
Lake Forest Park
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmb

Faraday Cage
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Faraday_cage

Also strong solar flare activity can cause major power outages. The sun is entering an active cycle that may produce some strong solar flares in 2012.

These solar flares have the potential to disrupt satellites and power distribution grids.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Sauer
United States
Willow Street
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
A high altitude nuclear burst could cause damage to electronic devices for many hundreds of miles. Let's just say that it would indeed cause problems.

Shielding takes many forms (no, it doesn't have to be lead -- we're not talking about that kind of shielding, actually), but the most effective is to simply have "low-pass" filtering on anything outside of the chassis of any equipment you want to protect. So, if you have a metal case with sensitive stuff inside, you need to have it adequately closed off and any power or output cabling needs to be filtered to prevent damage.

This, from work I did in the 1980s that was declassified long ago.