Subject: Witch/Curse cards newbie question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Heynes
South Africa
Cape Town
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi.I am new to board games scene I think i am the only person who has not played Dominion yet. I have a question. I have read the rules and its sounds great but the whole Witch/Curse cards bothers me.

I am a Christian and I want to know if i can play Dominion without the Witch or Curse cards? Can i take them out of the game and throw them away without affecting the gameplay? Are they vital to the game? If so i would rather not buy Dominion then.

Thanks for the advice.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Glory to Rome!
badge
"Let each man pass his days in that wherein his skill is greatest" Propertius Sextus
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you can.

It will reduce the number of different games you can play, and you'll miss out on some of the strategies. But many games don't include the Witch.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Coffey
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You can play without curse cards. There are a few other cards that use curse cards as well that you'd also have to sideboard (don't recall which ones are in which set though).
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Buz
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dominion allows you to choose any ten from the 25 cards included. If you don't use the Witch, then you don't use the Curses either. The game is just fine without them.

There are other cards in the expansions which utilize the curses, but in the base set the Witch is the only one.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Glory to Rome!
badge
"Let each man pass his days in that wherein his skill is greatest" Propertius Sextus
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, in later expansions, the Curse cards become more vital:

Swindler, Sea Hag, Embargo, Torturer all come to mind.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls