Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Red Russia» Forums » Variants

Subject: Tsar Nicholas counter rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruce Henderson
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
To mirror real life Tsar Nicholas doesn't seem to have a job in 'Red Russia' in 1918 either. Shouldn't he be in Ekaterinaberg? Any rules/options yet to make him a useful contributing member to further a new socialist dawn, or do we throw the counter down a sink-hole in the woods? Game doesn't seem to need him; but was wondering why the counter was included? Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Gelman
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
The RallyBird Baseball board game
badge
The RallyBird Baseball board game
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good question! Maybe he could be used by the Reds as a hostage trade asset.

Thus, if a Red leader is captured (rule 10.5) and fails his escape roll, the Red player could trade the Tsar for him (+1 VP for that White faction). White must accept. Put the Red Leader on the next turn of the Turn Track. If Red won't trade the Tsar, the captured Red Leader dies.

I don't think this idea is realistic, but just for fun...

I'm surprised that the game designers who researched the topic thoroughly think the Tsar isn't worth anything to the Whites, but maybe so, after all that happened to Russia to lead up to this point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
agit prop
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In my research during the game development, it became clear that the Czar was a non-issue for all factions. None of the whites really wanted him restored to the throne, and the reds (obviously) ended up having no use for him and the family, so executed them all. Lessons learned from the French Revolution of 1789, I guess. I actually read about 10 titles covering all factions (3 on the whites exclusively), and was genuinely surprised that the "conventional wisdom" about the Czar was simply wrong. So, it was a deliberate "omission".

The counter was original to the design, but in development it was "deleted". Unfortunately, the counters were already in print by the time I got the title for development (I didn't even see them until very late in the development cycle), so there was nothing to do on that point. I suppose there should have been a blurb about the Czar, but all of the focus at the end was on trying to get all the various rules correctly referenced and contradictions fixed, which was no mean feat. So, I suppose an apology is due for this glitch on my part.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.