Does anyone have any thoughts or experiences of what happens to systems that have been depopulated by the Draka genocide when;
- they are selected for Outworlder or Raider appearance
- their diplomatic status in relation to Communication "conquests"
- do they count as "colonised" for VP scoring if re-populated.
What's this? Why, it's the Hiller Flying Platform! It flew in 1955.
You pose some interesting questions. Of course, there isn't anything explicit in the rules about the situations you suppose, however we can try to extend the existing concepts implied within the Draka rules [21.3].
I would say that a system depopulated by the Draka *cannot* become an Outworlder because a system owned by another "player" (i.e. in this case the "virtual" player, the Draka) cannot be the source of an Outworlder outbreak [21.0 #3]. Here is some additional nit-picking rationalization: If a planet has been depopulated by the Draka, and the Draka are still in play, only the Draka remain on the depopulated planet. Therefore, if an outworlder appears on the planet, technically, the Outworlder would be the Draka. However, since the Draka are allowed to appear only once per game [21.31], it would not be correct to add a set of new Outworlder counters to the map which represent a second outbreak of the Draka. Also, if the planet is completely depopulated and the Draka are out of play, it is a dead world since it is "void of intelligent life" [21.35] and cannot be the source of an Outworlder outbreak since it has no ideology or race. In short, if a Draka populated world or depopulated world is selected as an Outworlder, the result is ignored.
Regarding diplomatic conquests of Draka-conquered worlds, I suppose you could assume the Draka diplomatic sector level is also 9, like their military sector. However, one could make the case that a Draka world should not have a diplomatic sector higher than independent Atjay, which is 5. Or maybe the Draka are as bad at diplomacy as they are good at conquest, therefore their Diplomatic sector is the nominal "3" for any independent system. Good question. I'm not sure which way to go. Have to think about it some more.
Do former Draka worlds count as "colonized" if you re-inhabit them? It would appear not, since you do not use the colonization procedure to re-inhabit former Draka worlds, but instead conquer them via straight forward Conquest or Communication operations. Their subsequent victory point value would be calculated like any other conquered world.
Anyway, that's my $0.02
- Last edited Sat Oct 9, 2010 3:04 am (Total Number of Edits: 1)
- Posted Sat Oct 9, 2010 1:11 am