Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on sub attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Henrik Reschreiter
United Kingdom
Poole
Dorset
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Situation:
The allied are performing an operation with two unflipped CVs. After the battle (no damage), a sub car scores two step losses. The sub card states: 'japanese choice for damage' and 'can eliminate a unit'.

Does this mean:
1) Is it possible to snipe out one of the undamaged CVs and kill it with the two step losses outright, or

2) does the 'can kill a unit' refer to the contrast of e.g. the typhoon which cannot kill the last step, and normal damage application still applies, i.e. all need to be flipped first, though option for final step loss is there?

Many thanks, Henrik
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hreschreiter wrote:
Situation:
The allied are performing an operation with two unflipped CVs. After the battle (no damage), a sub car scores two step losses. The sub card states: 'japanese choice for damage' and 'can eliminate a unit'.

Does this mean:
1) Is it possible to snipe out one of the undamaged CVs and kill it with the two step losses outright, or

2) does the 'can kill a unit' refer to the contrast of e.g. the typhoon which cannot kill the last step, and normal damage application still applies, i.e. all need to be flipped first, though option for final step loss is there?

Many thanks, Henrik


Hard to answer as each card is somewhat unique. Which card? Likely answer 1 or 2, JP choice.

Mark
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henrik Reschreiter
United Kingdom
Poole
Dorset
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The card in question was:

#27: 1 / Submarine Attack
Play during an offensive; at the end of all combat against any active Allied naval units or against any active Allied naval unit, if no battle hexes were declared during the Offensive. On a die roll of: 0-4: Lose one naval step* 5-8: Lose two naval steps* 9: No Effect. *Japanese choice; can eliminate a unit. Draw one Strategy Card.

Cheers, many thanks for the quick answer.


Speaking of which, could I clarify another card with you:

#48: 2 / New China Army
Activate: Any HQ. Logistic Value: 4 if SEAC HQ, for all others: 3 Conditions: Only ground and air units may be activated. Bonus: The Allies receive one Chinese ground replacement step for a reduced Chinese unit. This replacement step cannot be saved and is lost if not used immediately. Additionally, all Chinese army units may then be activated at no additional activation cost.

If the JP occupy Dacca, the Burma road is closed and for all intents and purposes the Chinese Army units are OOS, can then due to this card these OOS (but within activation range of SEAC) Chinese Armies move, or does the card just provide bonus activations, but still first the units need to be in supply and hence could ordinarily be activated if chosen?

Thanks a lot!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
With this card if there was combat and two hits were achieved you can flip two naval units or sink one naval unit. If there was no combat on two hits you can eliminate one naval unit.

New China army gives bonus activations. They still need to meet all conditions for activation.

The only card that allows OOS activations is General Adachi.

Mark
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henrik Reschreiter
United Kingdom
Poole
Dorset
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot Mark yet again for the great support!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.