Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bernard Hopkins
England
Durham/Darlington
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I’ve played about 15 games of Caylus now, 5 to face and about 10 online. All but 2/3 have been two player. What I’m now seeing between me and my partner (my ftf opponent) is we are doing the exact same things every game: -

1) Get resource cubes focusing on stone and cloth.

2)Take those to the castle (we are normally going to the castle on opposite turns). When one goes to the castle the other seems to be just buying the favour.

3) Race up the favour tracks - the same three favour tracks (Victory points, money, buildings.) normally getting to the end of all three.

4) Race to get the stone farms out.
5) Take turns getting the gold first
6) Build Prestige buildings
7) See who won

It’s starting to get very samey, anything other that what I’ve written, seems to be of inconsequence during our games. I’m no expert far from it I get hammered on BSW, sometimes getting my own score doubled. Me and my partner have just fallen into a routine and can’t seem to see how anything but the rush for the stone farms, then gold, then prestige buildings will get us the win. Or is that the way to win it’s just the subtle variations within that plan that are the key to winning?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martins Livens
Latvia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I have seen a lot wasted resources on joust.
And money track isn't needed unless you spend money in first half of game like crazy.
(no more that 1-2 steps)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johan L
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm hardly an expert myself (24 plays logged), but I'd recommend experimenting a bit and trying something different to break the rut. Even if it will perhaps lose you a few games short term, it should improve your skills in the long run as you learn what works and what doesn't.