The revised rule book I downloaded here on the 'Geek has me a bit confused about how the Allegiance of Citizens chart works.
The example given in the revised rule book:
Example: The allegiance marker for KÖLN is in the center
Catholic allegiance space. The Catholic player has placed
1 Guilder/money piece on KÖLN, the Habsburgs 1 piece,
the Nobility 1 piece, the Burghers 2 pieces and the
Reformers 3 pieces. The Catholics (first in game turn order)
moves the allegiance marker to the top Catholic space.
The Habsburgs cannot move the marker because it is not
possible to move it “beyond the track”. The Burghers
move the marker to the rightmost Catholic space. The
Reformers then move the marker to the center Protestant
space. Finally, the Nobility move the marker to the
leftmost Protestant space.
In this example, the Habsburg money had no effect
because the markers can not move beyond the boundaries
of the chart and the Nobility money had no real effect
because the markers can not be moved more than 3
spaces in one game turn.
My confusion? The rules say that a city's allegiance marker can be moved at most 3 spaces. This example has it hopping all over the chart!
Is the "maximum move of 3 spaces" simply supposed to mean "3 spaces from where it started?" So factions can move the thing 10+ times as long as it ends up within 3 spaces of its starting point?
If it can only move 3 spaces, what's the point of putting more money on the city after 3 money pieces have already been laid on it?
I understand the historical significance of limiting these political shifts; cities shouldn't be able to go from strongly Catholic to Strongly Reformed (or vice versa) in one fell swoop. But the example given in the revised rulebook sure seems to come close to that! Am I reading something wrong?