Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Stronghold» Forums » Rules

Subject: a few questions, please help rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Schelchshorn
Germany
Schlüsselfeld
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hi Folks,
please be so kind and answer the following questions.

thx in advance,
Rob

About Saboteurs: Can they be build only once in the game or can the attacker build them again after they have been removed from the game?

About swapping units: Can units swap directly from the east part to the west part of the stronghold?

About swapping units: Gale makes it more expensive (+1 hourglass) to send a new unit or a hero to a chosen wall section. Is it still more expensive if the defender swaps units?

About swapping: Can heroes swap?

About Training: The defender has trained a Marksman to a Soldier. Can the newly trained Soldier stay in the Barracks to become immediately trained as a Veteran?

About 2 Player game: I assume the attacker can move with e.g. a minor dispatch 5 units to EACH foreground (moving in Sum 10 units out of the camp)!?

About moving units: Is it possible to move units back from a rampart to a foreground only with a drover? Can units move back to the camp (to send them then to the other east or west side of the stronghold?

About drover: Units may move during the Dispatch Phase from a rampart to another adjacent rampart. Do they have to use connecting paths OR can the move directly to the adjacent rampart allowing the attacker to avoid traps on the paths?

About Order ‘Orcs’ Detonation’: Can the Invader chose how many Orcs blow up themselves or are automatically ALL Orcs are dead at this wall section?

About ‘Accurate Shot: I assume if drawing e.g. a miss and a hit card it works as follows: The miss card comes immediately back into the pile and the hit card comes back to into the pile after applying losses to the defender (because hit cards are shuffled back into the pile every time)!?

About Steadfastness (Barricades, Shameful Negotiations): Can one of these options become chosen during the assault phase or just during one of the six pre-assault phases?

About Wooden Wall Component Marker: There are just 5 Wooden Wall Marker so I assume the defender can not have more than these 5 ones in the game at any time?! If that is right the hint in the rules (makes no sense

About ‘Marksmen blessing’ and ‘Unearthly Glare’: Using ‘On last Legs’, the defender can remove all Hourglasses which mark already taken actions in a chosen Building. Can ‘Marksmen blessing’ and ‘Unearthly Glare’ be chosen a second time?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Simon
United States
Ashley
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JohnnyReb wrote:
Hi Folks,
please be so kind and answer the following questions.

thx in advance,
Rob

About Saboteurs: Can they be build only once in the game or can the attacker build them again after they have been removed from the game?


They can be built again.

JohnnyReb wrote:
About swapping units: Can units swap directly from the east part to the west part of the stronghold?


No. Units may only swap from adjacent Wall Sections or from a Wall Section and the Courtyard or Building. But if you are on the wall, you may only Swap Units if the wall sections are right next to one another and you cannot swap across the Barbican.

JohnnyReb wrote:
About swapping units: Gale makes it more expensive (+1 hourglass) to send a new unit or a hero to a chosen wall section. Is it still more expensive if the defender swaps units?


You cannot Swap Units if Gale was played. You can only Swap Units if the cost would be 1 Hourglass. However, with Gale, the cost to move is 2 Hourglasses, so Swap Units is not an option.

JohnnyReb wrote:
About swapping: Can heroes swap?


No, only Units may swap.

JohnnyReb wrote:
About Training: The defender has trained a Marksman to a Soldier. Can the newly trained Soldier stay in the Barracks to become immediately trained as a Veteran?


Yes.

JohnnyReb wrote:
About 2 Player game: I assume the attacker can move with e.g. a minor dispatch 5 units to EACH foreground (moving in Sum 10 units out of the camp)!?


Yes, that is correct.

JohnnyReb wrote:
About moving units: Is it possible to move units back from a rampart to a foreground only with a drover? Can units move back to the camp (to send them then to the other east or west side of the stronghold?


Only with the Drover. And, no, you cannot more back from the Foreground to the Camp (since the Drover only effects the Rampart it is placed on and not on the Foreground). Also, you cannot move from one Foreground to the other (again, the Drover only affects the RAMPART it is placed on).

JohnnyReb wrote:
About drover: Units may move during the Dispatch Phase from a rampart to another adjacent rampart. Do they have to use connecting paths OR can the move directly to the adjacent rampart allowing the attacker to avoid traps on the paths?


They avoid the paths. This is a nice way for the Invader to get around the Defender's traps.

JohnnyReb wrote:
About Order ‘Orcs’ Detonation’: Can the Invader chose how many Orcs blow up themselves or are automatically ALL Orcs are dead at this wall section?


The Invader can choose, but it must be at least one.

JohnnyReb wrote:
About ‘Accurate Shot: I assume if drawing e.g. a miss and a hit card it works as follows: The miss card comes immediately back into the pile and the hit card comes back to into the pile after applying losses to the defender (because hit cards are shuffled back into the pile every time)!?


That is correct. You draw 2 cards, but you only resolve one card. Since you are resolving the Hit, the miss was not resolved and is shuffled back in as well as the hit card. If you drew two misses, you would resolve one Miss (discard it) and the other would get shuffled back into the deck.

JohnnyReb wrote:
About Steadfastness (Barricades, Shameful Negotiations): Can one of these options become chosen during the assault phase or just during one of the six pre-assault phases?


Technically there is no phase during the Assault to spend Hourglasses, so it cannot be used once the Assault begins, but can be used at any time prior.

JohnnyReb wrote:
About Wooden Wall Component Marker: There are just 5 Wooden Wall Marker so I assume the defender can not have more than these 5 ones in the game at any time?! If that is right the hint in the rules (makes no sense


I believe that in the revised rules posted on BGG, the limit of wooden wall markers should be 3. And, that is the limit. You are limited to the number of components for everything, except for Hourglasses. Just because the Resource and Wooden Wall components look the same, does not mean that they are interchangeable.

JohnnyReb wrote:
About ‘Marksmen blessing’ and ‘Unearthly Glare’: Using ‘On last Legs’, the defender can remove all Hourglasses which mark already taken actions in a chosen Building. Can ‘Marksmen blessing’ and ‘Unearthly Glare’ be chosen a second time?


Technically yes, but not really. Again, since you are limited to the number of components you can only resolve each one once per turn. However, there may be very rare instances where you might want to do this. For example, let us suppose that early in the turn the Defender uses Unearthly Glare to stop a costly (but not game ending) assault on Wall Section A. However, then by the end of Phase 5, the Defender sees that the Invader has a potential game-winning breach on Wall Section B. The Defender in that instance could use On Last Legs and pay for the Unearthly Glare action again. Since there is only one marker (and thus, the limit due to components), he could remove it from Wall Section A and move it to Wall Section B. Technically, you could do that, but it is very unlikely that a situation like that would occur in most games (even a semi-savvy Defender will wait to pay for Unearthly Glare last after seeing the board set up).

Hope that helps!
9 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.