Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Return of the Heroes» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about Markets rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
patcom patcom
France
dijon
flag msg tools
mbmb
When you go in a market, you take the six first tiles, and you can buy one or more of them.
And the other players can buy the tiles who don't want to.
But are the others players have to be in the Market Place to buy these items, or can they buy them from their own place.
It would be a bit strange i they could buy these items from any place of the board, no ???
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Goldman
United States
Freeville
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Question about Markets
patcom (#448719),

Although it's a bit strange, it's how it works. Another bit of player interaction.

It's also nice for the dwarf, whose slow movement may not let him get to a market place fast enough to find a horse. This way, he can get his horse, and the player who's at the market place can get a gold from the sale.

--Andy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
patcom patcom
France
dijon
flag msg tools
mbmb
Re:Question about Markets
Sushionrye (#448730),
Ok, so we'll test that this evening ....
But i confirm : it's very strange !!! wow
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Newman
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Re:Question about Markets
patcom (#448795),

Just pretend your squire is at the shop buying equipment for you.

It's the same reasoning that lets you participate in the Joust from three boards away: it's just a game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Kaiser
United States
Aurora
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Question about Markets
patcom (#448719),

If you don't like how this works just think of it as the current player is charging a fee for delivering the item to the player. Since the player who is at the marketplace gets a gold for each item another player (those not necessarily at the marketplace) you could think of this as the current player buys the item for the other player and brings it to them for a fee of a gold piece.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Question about Markets
you could think of this as the current player buys the item for the other player and brings it to them for a fee of a gold piece.

I actually assumed thats what it was...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turner
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When playing the markets, ater selling, do the goods go back that are not bought? Can you call the market again the next turn with all new goods?


Thank you,
DT
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Rossney
United States
San Francisco
California [CA]
flag msg tools
Avatar
Quote:
When playing the markets, ater selling, do the goods go back that are not bought?


Unpurchased goods go on the bottom of the market stack. The rules don't say who determines the order; my feeling is that if you're thinking about the game at this level maybe this isn't the game for you.

Quote:
Can you call the market again the next turn with all new goods?


Sure, as long as that's all you do that turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robert Rossney (UhhhClem) wrote:
Unpurchased goods go on the bottom of the market stack. The rules don't say who determines the order; my feeling is that if you're thinking about the game at this level maybe this isn't the game for you.


It turns out, in the English rules, there is no "stack". You just choose tokens at random from the unordered pile, and, throw any tokens back into the pile. So there's no guarantee that they will cycle; you can have several consecutive market draws without a particular item coming up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.