Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

YINSH» Forums » General

Subject: Jumping over disks and rings rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Devin Leung
United States
New Hyde Park
New York
flag msg tools
mb
In the rules it said that you can jump over your own rings. It also says that you must land at the spot right after the disks you've jumped over. What if you have a ring at the end of the row of disks? Do you land behind it? Or is the row unjumpable?

What happens if you have 3 disks, your ring, and 2 disks? Do you jump over everything and land behind the 2 disks?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bush
United States
Radiant
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Jumping over disks and rings
The rules I have clearly state "A ring can only jump over markers, not over rings." So, you may not jump over any ring, regardless of whose ring it is. The rules booklet has a date of 2003 on it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corey Butler
United States
Marshall
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Jumping over disks and rings
David is right. You cannot jump over rings, only markers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devin Leung
United States
New Hyde Park
New York
flag msg tools
mb
Re:Jumping over disks and rings
Oops. Guess I was playing it wrong. Still, it was fun.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Kwan
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Jumping over disks and rings
devinl (#450154),

It's important to get the rules correct. If rings can be jumped, it becomes difficult to build a row-of-5 anywhere on the board except at the corners or edges. With the correct rules, it is an important strategy, when trying to build a row-of-5, to position your rings cleverly to block your opponent from blocking or jumping your row, and with a good blocking configuration, you can build your row anywhere on the board where your opponent doesn't have a local presence. (This is one of the core principles in the "Chameleon style" strategy, which won the last World Championship.)

If you don't have rings in good blocking positions (or if you are playing with the wrong rules), the game can get very chaotic and out of your control. But if your rings are well-positioned, you will be able to "create your little bit of order [just enough for a 5-in-a-row] out of the chaos".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.