Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Pymm
England
melton mowbray
leicestershire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I'm looking at getting either this or Liberty roads.

Can anyone that has played both games give me a comparison between them and tell me which one is best and why?

I am pretty new to wargames and i will be playing solo, so both these will be deciding factors on a final purchase.

Any alternate recommendations would be appreciated.

Many Thanks.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Borchers
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I own both, but haven't had the opportunity to play either one much. They're entirely different in terms of scale. Normandy '44 is about the D-Day landings and the first portion of the Nornmandy Campaign. Liberty Roads starts with D-Day (either the historical landings or, if you play the campaign, the beaches of your choice) and encompasses the campaigns throughout all of France, right into the industrial regions of Germany. It's really an apples-to-oranges comparison.

I don't believe one is more excessively complex than the other. For solo play, Liberty Roads has a slight disadvantage in that chit draws are part of the game (and the chits that your opponent has in his available pool should be secret). Normandy '44 is solo-friendly.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bradley Fletcher
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
I also have both games, and I'd say without reservation that, while LR is a great game, N'44 is the better introductory and solo game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raynald Foret
France
Thorigné-Fouillard
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
As the others says, Normandy 44 is more solo friendly since there is zero fog of war. But the fog of war in LR is not heavy and more importantly, it is a lot more fun to play, IMHO.