Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Pandemic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Epidemic Rules Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Debien
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is more of an observation.

In the rules for Eradicating a disease, it says that once a disease is eradicated, you will no longer add a disease of that color if added during the Infection phase. It makes no mention of Epidemics.

It also says the cubes are removed from the game and moved to the box. Cubes of this color will no longer be used during the game. That makes that clear enough.

So, what to do during the epidemic phase if you pull a card of a colored disease you have eradicated? The rules are pretty clear: you do not put 3 cubes of that color on the board as that disease has been eradicated. That seems a little bit of a let down, though. Especially since you still move the infection rate up by one and increase intensity of infection. But without having an actual Epidemic of 3 new cubes, it seems to take the bite out of the infection doesn't it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bell
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep. That's the benefit of eradicating diseases.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Weeks
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In most games you will not Eradicate more than one disease if you even get one. When you find yourself eradicating more than one disease on a regular basis then you should increase the number of epidemic cards. By doing this you'll have less of an opportunity to eradicate a disease because you'll need to turn your focus to the disease which is getting out of control. Another thing you can try is not playing with the same set of roles. Certain roles will allow for easier eradication, the medic for example.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.