Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Labyrinth: The War on Terror, 2001 – ?» Forums » Rules

Subject: Solitaire: Iran Event rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joseph Cesare
United States
San Marcos
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Situation: Iran event came up on the jihadist side in solo play. I did a Shia-Mix roll and came up with Lebanon. The test set it to Poor.

Now what?

1) Where do I make the jihad rolls? Is it the closest Shia-Mix Good/Fair country with cells or is the presence of cells not required?

2)If there is no suitable target for the roll, is the event not playable?

3)If the country is Good and both rolls succeed, does it degrade to Poor?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Toppen
United States
Gallup
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Preorder Navajo Wars by GMT Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
1) Where do I make the jihad rolls? Is it the closest Good/Fair country with cells or is the presence of cells not required?


See note on Minor Jihad on the Flowchart: IRAN, JAYSH AL-MAHDI: roll Shia-Mix, test, find closest Good then Fair. Cells not required with this event. Iran is conducting the Operation; not your Jihadists.

Quote:
2)If there is no suitable target for the roll, is the event not playable?


Playable with no effect. See first bullet of 9.4.1.

Quote:
3)If the country is Good and both rolls succeed, does it degrade to Poor?


Snake-eyes! Yes.

-Joel
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Butler
United States
Fort Walton Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to clarify, a roll of 1,2 is NOT two successes; it would have to be snake-eyes, as Joel states. The roll necessary for success is *before* any successes are applied. So, let's say a country is at Good, and you roll sequentially, first rolling a 1. That would degrade the country from Good to Fair. Then you roll again, rolling a 2. That would *not* degrade the country from Fair to Poor, since it was Good at the start of the action. (If the country was a Fair-2 at the START of the action, then a 2 would be a success, but since it was Good-1 at the start of the action, it is a failure.)

In short, to avoid confusion, do *not* ever roll sequentially in the same country for the same operation (particularly for Jihads or events that deal with governance changes); roll all dice first, then count all successes with the marker as currently placed, then last apply successes.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.