Subject: What's a REAL wargame like? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jumbit
China
Zhejiang
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've often heard of "sand table" wargames performed in the military. I can't find the rules anywhere on BGG. What are they like? How do you play? How are combats resolved, movement allowances calculated, and so on? Are they of any recreational value, or merely yet another form of training?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Enrico Viglino
United States
Eugene
OR
flag msg tools
Slowed - BGG's moderation policies have driven me partially from here
badge
http://thegamebox.byethost15.com/smf/
mb
A lot of the early wargames were refereed.

I know the Japanese did wargaming that way -
I think there was some form of randomization though.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
z morgan
United States
Frankfort
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As a currently serving Soldier, I can tell you that they are used mostly for briefing purposes (on the unit level). I'm sure they "wargame" at the upper echelons though (i.e. the Pentagon). Sandtables at the tactical level give leaders a way to move their elements around a 3D battlefield to explain their plan to subordinate leaders and Soldiers. So to answer your question, no real "rule set" per se, beyond Army doctrine and the rule of thumb for guessing what the enemy will do: "What is the enemy's most dangerous course of action, and what is their most probable course of action?" Incidentally, I use that principle in boardgames to pretty good effect.

As far as the high-level wargaming, I wish my books weren't all boxed up for my move because I have one from my father-in-law (who retired from the submarine force) about how those work. When I can get to it, I'll post the title.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jumbit
China
Zhejiang
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What does it look like when set up? Are there miniature tanks and so forth? Does the table actually have piles of sand on it?