Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Labyrinth: The War on Terror, 2001 – ?» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some rules clarifications needed rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
D L
Malaysia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Must the Jihadist play a 3 ops card for a Major Jihad in order to get a Besieged Regime marker if they fail? Therefore, failing while playing a 2 ops card for a Major Jihad will not gain the player a Besieged Regime marker?

2. For the Jihadist Victory condition no.1, does it mean that for instance, Islamist rule in Saudi Arabia, Pakistan and Afghanistan is good enough, i.e. 2 of the 3 countries in this instance are adjacent to each other?

3. Iraqi WMD event -- What do the words "at any Governance" mean? Does it mean that the US player gets to choose at what rating the new Governance will be? Or does it just mean that even if IRAQ is a non-Islamist country, a Regime Change op is possible? If so, can the US player conduct a Regime Change even if Iraq was already in Good Governance? If so, will the new Governance rating drop to either Poor or Fair?

4. I don't know if this is a possible scenario, but suppose that during a Regime Change, or some other event where a Regime Change marker is supposed to be placed, but somehow or rather, the Governance rating turns to Good, does this mean that there is no need for placement of a Regime Change marker at all?

5. I assume it's ok for the US player to attempt to conduct a War of Ideas op in an untested Muslim country? Also, I suppose it's not possible at all to Deploy in an untested country since there's no way it could turn into an Ally? And a Minor Jihad attempt is possible in an untested Muslim country?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conor Hickey
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. See rule 8.4.3.1 - the Jihadists must roll 3 dice and fail in a Major Jihad for a Besieged Regime marker to be placed so they would need to play a 3 Ops card to get the 3 dice. Failing on a 2 Ops card won't place it.

2. Yes. You need a total of 6 resources and at least 2 IR next to each other, but the 2 which are adjacent don't have to provide all the 6 resources.

3. It means that once this event has been played the US may conduct a Regime Change there even if Iraq is not under Islamist Rule. Typically it will be a Poor Adversary and the US can still invade then, this card provides the games equivalent of what happened in the real world. I suppose it means the US could Regime Change if Iraq was at Good, can't see any reason why you would want to do that though, and presumably Governance would drop to Poor or Fair on doing so.

4. This doesn't really arise under the rules - the only time a Regime Change is placed is when the Regime Change operation is conducted by the US, and it's only removed when Governance changes to either Good or Islamist Rule.

5. You can do this, you need to test the country first, then do the WoI. Note that if you use a 2 Ops card for the WoI and the country tests Poor, the WoI automatically fails.

5b. Yes you cannot Deploy in an untested country as it will never be am Ally after the test. See 7.3.3 'at the moment of the Deploy'

5c. You can't attempt a Minor Jihad in an untested Muslim country because you need a cell present in order to attempt the Jihad, and if a cell is present the country will already have been tested.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D L
Malaysia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
6. Does WoI on an untested Non-Muslim country require one or two die rolls?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conor Hickey
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dodya wrote:
6. Does WoI on an untested Non-Muslim country require one or two die rolls?


One. See 7.2.3
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the Q&A (all spot on). Best, vfr
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D L
Malaysia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
7. Do cadre markers need to be removed if a cell traveled into the country?

8. Does the Reserves Track need to marked down to 0 in order to be used? E.g. it is not permissible to use only 1 out of 2 Reserves and then mark the Reserves at 1 for later use.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michel Sorbet
Poland
Lublin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"A son seul aspect n'est-on pas terrasse? Nul n'est assez hardi pour l'exciter" Job 40:28
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dodya wrote:
7. Do cadre markers need to be removed if a cell traveled into the country?


Travel does not remove a Cadre. A cadre marker is removed only when a Cell is taken from the Funding Track.

Dodya wrote:
8. Does the Reserves Track need to marked down to 0 in order to be used? E.g. it is not permissible to use only 1 out of 2 Reserves and then mark the Reserves at 1 for later use.


No. The rules say that you must use ALL your reserves.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.