Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Axis & Allies Pacific 1940» Forums » Rules

Subject: Strategic bomber supporting an amphibious assault? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Mowat
United States
California
flag msg tools
The US is attempting a landing in Japan, which has only fighters defending. The US player sends in a battleship, a transport, two fighters, and 2 strategic bombers from Guam. Will those strategic bombers participate in the sea battle against the Japanese fighters? If so is their attack value 4? Thanks for the clarification!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Corbett
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yes I believe so
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Patching
United Kingdom
Newport, Wales
flag msg tools
badge
If you notice this notice you wil notice that this notice was not worth noticing
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess the Japanese player could choose whether to scramble his fighters to attack the incoming ships (as Japan is an island) or whether to hold them back and defend the land from the landing troops. If the fighters did scramble to attack the ships, then yes, the bombers could participate in the fight. Basically, unless your bombers are planning on bombing an installation, they work the same as any other unit.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Ozimek
Denmark
Aalborg
flag msg tools
badge
Must resist M:tG. Boardgames are my methadone :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
During combat movement the attacker needs to decide whether to deploy the bombers on the island or the sea around it. After that has been decided (=all combat movement done), the defender chooses whether to scramble the fighters. You seem to have the impression, that the bombers will be able to react to the deployment of the fighters, or that you need to clear the sea zone before the invation, and that is not exactly the case. The attacker needs to win the sea battle to ensure the survival of the invasion forces, but all movement onto the island is declared before the sea battle is resolved.

No matter where the bombers are deployed, they will be part of the attaacking force, and use their attack value of 4. Fighters, whether scrambling or not, will use their defense value of 4.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.