My words literally betray me.
I think I have this correct, but I want to just write this out to be sure...
First in regards to start inventions:
In the beginning of the game 7 Start inventions are placed on the board.
For the first round only these can be produced. Any that are produced are placed in the discard pile, all that are not produced are removed from the game.
In later rounds, both new start inventions and already produced start inventions will be added to the board (in addition to other inventions). Any time a start invention is not produced during a round, it is removed from the game. (So over the course of the game all of the start inventions can be removed from the game.)
In regards to other inventions:
When a player develops an invention, 3 cards (2 real + 1 fake) are placed in a pile with all other inventions which were developed during this turn. At the end of the round, these cards will be shuffled with the discards and the pile of invention cards. The board is refreshed to up to 7 invention at the end of the round.
So for lets use a sewing machine as an example:
On a turn, I develop a sewing machine and retrieve the 3 sewing machine cards. These are shuffled in with the the rest of the invention cards at the end of the turn. This invention may or may not be available to produce the next turn depending on whether it is one of the 7 cards placed on the board.
This is where I am unsure of my interpretation.
The rules state: "The three cards of this
invention must then be placed face up next to the pile of invention cards and will be added in at the end of the round. This invention will be available for production in the next round."
When it says "will be available" does this actually mean "has a chance of appearing"?
Yes. As I read your post, you have everything correct.
Virre Linwendil Annergård
... and still sober
yes it does.
I want to ne really sure. Are unproduced start inventions removed definitively removed from the game or are there only removed from the board (to the discard pile.) ? What about other unproduced inventions?
(Yes I know, late answer, but I just bought the game).
At the then of a round, all start inventions are removed from the game, for the rest of the game. They are never coming back this game.
Then spot 1,2 and 3 (if there are sillnon-startinvention cards there) go to the discard pile.