Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Dominion: Seaside» Forums » Rules

Subject: Haven 2nd turn question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Trent Howell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played Seaside for the first time today and weren't clear on the Haven card.

We understand that on the first play of the Haven, we first draw a card to our hand, then set aside any card from our hand onto the Haven card. We also get an extra action and can thus play another action card, move on to buy and clean-up.

The question is on the next turn.
At the start of the next turn we have 5 cards in our hand. We move the Haven card and the one set aside into our 'in-play' row and take the previously set aside card into our hand - so now we have 6 cards in our hand. Since Haven is a duration card, do we then also get +1 Card and +1 Action? So you'd now have 7 cards in hand and 2 actions to use.

Some said yes and some said no.
Yes - because the card gets into play in the second turn and thus you get those benefits on the second turn as well.
No - because the +1 Card and +1 Action are taken when the action of the card is used - which in this case is the first turn then it's used up. And the only time duration cards get the described benefit in the second turn is when it specifically says so like "Now and at the start of your next turn."

I'm in the camp of "No", but I'd like some backup.

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Neuhaus
United States
New York
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer is no.

If the ability applies to the next turn, it will have something that says like

"Now and at the start of your next turn, +1$"
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Spencer
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TheBoardGameFamily wrote:
Yes - because the card gets into play in the second turn and thus you get those benefits on the second turn as well.


Check out the card "Tactician." Consider whether this reading makes any sense for that card, remembering that it costs 5.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Zendo fan, Columbus Blue Jackets fan, Dominion Fan.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dominion: Seaside rules wrote:
In order to keep track of which Duration cards are discarded during the current Clean-up phase and which Duration cards remain in play, place Duration cards in a separate row above the other Actions and Treasures played. When a Duration card has its last effect, move it to the row of cards that will be played and discarded during the current turn.

You are moving Duration cards from one row to another to remind yourself to properly remove them from play when they have had their last effect. They remain in play the entire time they are in your play area, no matter which row you might put them in. They do not re-enter play when your next turn starts, so you don't get to replay them from the top.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trent Howell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the confirmations. I've got the goods now to make sure it's played right from here on out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.