In the rules, it says if you build a building/wonder on a spot that already has a great person, instead of losing the great person he goes to your civ sheet and you can put him back down on a following start of turn.
It also says that if you gain a great person from culture you can either place him immediately or hold him in reseve.
My questions are thus:
1 - When obtaining a great person from a village, can he also be opted to be placed in reserve?
2 - Can great people be moved without being replaced? Meaning, can I put a great person in reserve from in play without having to build a building/wonder in its place?
1 - Yes, the great person may be placed in reserve.
2 - No, the great person may not be removed from the board without being replaced. However, the great person can be replaced by another great person.