Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Labyrinth: The War on Terror, 2001 – ?» Forums » Rules

Subject: Holding Final US Card - Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adrian Hague
United Kingdom
Bristol
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
RAWKET LAWNCHA!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
5.2.4 Final US Card. In any US Action Phase that the US side is
holding only one card, it may play it, discard it (without effect), or
hold it. If the Jihadist side has expended its cards and the US side
holds its final card, resolve any plots and end the turn.


With regard to 'holding it': Can a card be held until the next Jihadist Action Phase, or can the card only be held until the next turn TS-stylee)?

i.e, which of the following two scenarios is correct?

Scenario 1:

US Player has 1 card left, Jihadist has 2. It is the first US action phase. The US decides to 'hold' their card. Play moves to Jihadist Action Phases, Jihadist plays its final two cards. Play moves back to the US Action Phase. The US now plays their final 'held' card. Plots are now resolved, and the turn ends.

Scenario 2:
US Player has 1 card left, Jihadist has 2. It is the first US action phase. The US decides to 'hold' their card. Play moves to Jihadist Action Phase, Jihadist plays its final two cards. Plots are now resolved, and the turn ends. Both player dealt new cards, with the US adding their held card to the draw.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conor Hickey
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The first scenario is correct - as you quote the rule 'In any US Action Phase that the US side is
holding only one card, it may play it, discard it (without effect), or
hold it.' and the US always has it's turn in the Action Phase after the Jihadists, assuming the US has any cards at all.

So in scenario 1 the US can hold it's last card to see what the Jihadists do - once they have played their two cards, the US can again choose to play, hold, or discard their last card, at which point you go on to plot resolve and turn end.

Scenario 2 denies the US their turn in the Action Phase despite them having a card so would not be correct i.e. the US does not have to make one binding decision on their last card when they come to it.

(edit) Sorry, I should add that the last part of scenario 2 is correct in that if the US holds their last card, they do get dealt the requisite number of cards in the next turn to which that card is added - the error in scenario 2 ends at the skipping of the US opportunity to again play that last card (/edit)
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spot on. Thanks (again!) Conor. -- vfr
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.