Thumb up
1 Posts

Grand Conquest» Forums » Variants

Subject: Raider Quest rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
patrick stevens
United States
Los Angeles
flag msg tools
And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.
Raider Quest adds two Pirate figures per side which can be purchased for a cost of 10 moves. They may be built on any land space except the center "quest" island and the home starting positions of the opponents. The Pirate cannot be moved the same turn it is built. The Pirate moves two spaces and may mount elephants and chariots just like soldiers, but unlike a soldier the Pirate may capture elephants. Two Pirates may occupy one ship or galleon (hereafter ship will mean both ship and/or galleon). If one or more Pirates are captured, they become available again for a new build. They do not count for final count captures plus remaining pieces in free for all play. The Pirate may occupy the Quest positions. In partnership play, two partners may each have a Pirate aboard a ship and both players may move the ship on their respective turns (just like soldiers).

The Pirate may board an opponent's empty ship at sea, from ship to ship, from an adjacent sea spot. The Pirate may commandeer said ship, giving the opponent a chance for recapture. If there is no recapture, the ship and Pirate are regenerated for further movement.

The Pirate, when boarding a loaded enemy ship, may remove one opponent's piece. The Pirate must capture an opponent's elephant or chariot first (and camel in Grand Conquest) if one is on the ship. This capture only removes the elephant or chariot, not the soldier(s) mounted on it. The opponent may recapture as in standard rules, with a remaining soldier. In the unlikely circumstance that the opponent refuses recapture, each subsequent capture on the ship constitutes a move. The ship remains in the possession of the original owner until all land pieces are captured from the ship and only a Pirate remains aboard, at which point the Pirate takes possession of the ship and both the ship and the Pirate are regenerated. Alternately, the opponent may also recapture the loaded ship with a nearby ship destroying all on board including his own piece(s).

Pirates may also make recaptures, utilizing the above capture maneuvers.
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.