Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Thunderstone» Forums » Rules

Subject: Faeyn archer rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kieran Wong
msg tools
mb
The faeyn archer card says it cannot attack rank 1. Is this still true if he is using a weapon, e.g. a dagger?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benj Davis
Australia
Summer Hill
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. You'd need to attach that weapon to someone else for it to be useful against Rank 1.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lady Aellinsar wrote:
The faeyn archer card says it cannot attack rank 1. Is this still true if he is using a weapon, e.g. a dagger?
I'd say so. He still can NOT attack rank 1.

In this game, something needs to explicitly be mentioned in order for a loophole to be created. Not everything makes sense from a thematic perspective. For one thing, why someone like the Faeyn can't attack rank 1 even though he is considered a "Fighter"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fractal Energy
United States
Northridge
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the archer attack Rank 0? (eg the Guardian comes out)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benj Davis
Australia
Summer Hill
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sstrunks5555 wrote:
Can the archer attack Rank 0? (eg the Guardian comes out)


Now that's a good question. By a strict reading of the card, yes they can. One could justify that as there being more open territory in town than in the dungeon, but still...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobby Warren
United States
Glendale
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
La cheeserie!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sstrunks5555 wrote:
Can the archer attack Rank 0? (eg the Guardian comes out)

If it says, "cannot attack rank 1", then yes. If it says "can only attack rank 2 and 3", then no.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Metzler
United States
Glendale
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
"Are you pondering what I'm pondering Pinky?"
badge
"Wuhhh... I think so, Brain, but if a ham can operate a radio, why can't a pig set a VCR?"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bobby4th wrote:
sstrunks5555 wrote:
Can the archer attack Rank 0? (eg the Guardian comes out)

If it says, "cannot attack rank 1", then yes. If it says "can only attack rank 2 and 3", then no.


They can attack rank 0.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobby Warren
United States
Glendale
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
La cheeserie!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
slaqr wrote:
Bobby4th wrote:
sstrunks5555 wrote:
Can the archer attack Rank 0? (eg the Guardian comes out)

If it says, "cannot attack rank 1", then yes. If it says "can only attack rank 2 and 3", then no.


They can attack rank 0.

I was trying to give a general response because I didn't have my cards handy.

The Short Bow can't be used on Rank 0 and I didn't remember how the rest of the archers were worded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Ting
Malaysia
Sibu
Sarawak
flag msg tools
Bobby4th wrote:
slaqr wrote:
Bobby4th wrote:
sstrunks5555 wrote:
Can the archer attack Rank 0? (eg the Guardian comes out)

If it says, "cannot attack rank 1", then yes. If it says "can only attack rank 2 and 3", then no.


They can attack rank 0.

I was trying to give a general response because I didn't have my cards handy.

The Short Bow can't be used on Rank 0 and I didn't remember how the rest of the archers were worded.

so if you attach a short bow with Faeyn, how would the situation (rank 0) be justified? can you or can't you target?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobby Warren
United States
Glendale
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
La cheeserie!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
charlesting wrote:
Bobby4th wrote:
slaqr wrote:
Bobby4th wrote:
sstrunks5555 wrote:
Can the archer attack Rank 0? (eg the Guardian comes out)

If it says, "cannot attack rank 1", then yes. If it says "can only attack rank 2 and 3", then no.


They can attack rank 0.

I was trying to give a general response because I didn't have my cards handy.

The Short Bow can't be used on Rank 0 and I didn't remember how the rest of the archers were worded.

so if you attach a short bow with Faeyn, how would the situation (rank 0) be justified? can you or can't you target?

You would just get the Faeyn's attack stat. The bow could be equipped, but it wouldn't give you it's attack value to add.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.