Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kenneth Lury
United States
Blowing rock
NC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been working on Downtown on and off for a couple of months, playing only solo.
I find that although the rules are very well written and easy to understand, I in my dotage cannot keep track of everything.

I am now trying to play without using any of the detection rules; in other words, all flights are detected at all times.

I still have trouble keeping things straight, but at least that is one large part of the game I don't have to worry about. As this part of the game does not rely on skill, only dice rolling, I don't seem to miss it.
Maybe when I get the rest of the game down, I will add it back in.

I am thinking of this as sort of the Quickstart Rules version of Whistling Death.

If anyone has any other suggestions for dumbing down the game,while maintaining the action, I would like to hear them. For me, this is the only way I can get through.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Owsen
United States
Redmond
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey, whatever makes if fun for you. Just do it.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Morten Lund
Denmark
Århus
Denmark
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Yes, Beware the Geek bringing gifts!
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems like a very reasonable way to keep complexity down

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R Larsen
Denmark
Naerum (Copenhagen)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The trillion die rolls and the complexity is also what keeps me from playing Downtown more.
I am very interested in the subject and love the overall idea of the mechanics, but it is just too complex.
If you dont play it for a month, you have to read the 30 pages rules again.
I would love to hear if you develop other "starter" ideas.
Thanks for posting.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Obsidian Man
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb