Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Don't ask what you country can do for you..." and scoring cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Belgium
flag msg tools
On the other side!
badge
On the other side!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The following situation occurred: I played the card a ssoviet for influence points, thus triggering the events with my opponent only holding two cards of which he had to play one more. He discarded both and then drew TWO scoring cards with only one more legal card play left. What happens in such a situation? We simply scored both regions in succession even though he could only play one more card. Opinions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Jamet
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You won.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/593508/jfk-loses-the-col...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Belgium
flag msg tools
On the other side!
badge
On the other side!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh interesting, but according to what rule would I win? Just because it is an illegal move?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim
Canada
Calgary
AB
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He has no choice but to keep a scoring card in his hand which is loses him the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MGS
United States
Weston
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Finishing Blow
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BouncingSoul wrote:
He has no choice but to keep a scoring card in his hand which is loses him the game.


Where does it say it? I know holding a scoring card is illegal but I didn't see it would make you lose the game if you didn't have a choice.
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Ferreira
Portugal
Porto Salvo
Porto Salvo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule:

Quote:
11.1.2 Any player found holding a scoring card during the Reveal
Held Card phase is said to have started an accidental nuclear war,
and loses immediately
.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MGS
United States
Weston
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Finishing Blow
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
brainst0rm wrote:
Rule:

Quote:
11.1.2 Any player found holding a scoring card during the Reveal
Held Card phase is said to have started an accidental nuclear war,
and loses immediately
.



Thank you. Completely missed it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Bauer
United States
Gilbert
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Bazinga!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is just another great decisions the game offers.

The chances of drawing 2 scoring cards is very small but if you are clearly ahead is it worth the risk or is it better to play it safe and hold a card back. It is always the case with this card that the event you draw could be worse than the one you were discarding but scoring card are a particular risk.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.