Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Caucasus Campaign» Forums » Rules

Subject: 4th Cavalry Corps and determine defense Roll rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nuno Gonzalez
Portugal
Estoril
PORTUGAL
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Are the Guards 4th Cavalry considered a Elite Unit?

In our game I have the Cavalry Corps (defending Grozny) with three steps of cavalry. Can i roll a determine Defense with de 4th Cav Corps and loose a step in the process?

The rules aren´t clear about this issue.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timothy Phelps
United States
Canal Fulton
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is addressed in the FAQ:

15.7 Guards 4th Cavalry Corps HQ: The HQ marker has no influence
on Troop Quality.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each individual 4th Cavalry Corp unit (12th ,13th, 15th,and 116th divisions of the 17KK) is elite when at full strength, but is not elite when it has been reduced. Mark Simonitch describes the reason...

"The 17 Kuban Cossack Cavalry corps was an interesting unit. It
fought extremely well in August while it was defending its homeland
(it was honored with guards status for that campaign), but after it
was formed into the 4th Guards Cavalry Corps and sent back into
battle in November, it performed poorly. Probably because it was
no longer fighting in the Kuban, but in the Nogai Steppe. For this
reason I made the unit an elite unit on the front side and a regular
unit on its reduced side".

The 4th cavalry HQ unit just allows you to stack three of the cavalry corp divisions together and count them has 1 unit for stacking purposes. The HQ can also be used to represent the stack of cavalry units in a hex if you decide to place the divisions in the 4th Cav Corp holding box.

When you use determined defense with the cavalry corp units stacked with the HQ, you use the TQ of one of the individual cavalry divisions to determine your modifier, not the TQ of the HQ unit itself.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.