Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Lord of the Rings» Forums » Rules

Subject: Confused! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Taylor
United Kingdom
Nottingham
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Im very new to this and this is the first time Ive played LOTR. Just a quick question:

When an event says that you have to lose one hiding card (tree) can you use
a) a joker card or
b) a card with a hiding value of 2 instead of one?

Im a little confused. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes to both. You can discard a card with a star symbol to count for Hiding, and you can discard a card with 2 Hiding symbols when you only need 1. It's a bit wasteful, but sometimes it's preferable to the alternative.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
'Bernard Wingrave'
United States
Wyoming
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Frodo can also discard any white hobbit card, since these count as jokers for him.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Lott
United States
Mason
Michigan
flag msg tools
Being a Lions fan is a gift...
badge
...and a curse.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also note that you can discard a double wild, or even the Gollum card in this situation (if you have acquired it at the time) and in the latter case you will be saved the die roll since you didn't play it as a Triple Wild.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Taylor
United Kingdom
Nottingham
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for that guys I thought that might be the case.

On another note has anyone played solo, playing as Sam & Frodo?

I just cannot beat this game!!! Ive lost like 8 times now
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I solo with 2-3 Hobbits, usually 3 when I was getting the first game after adding an expansion, after I beat it with 3, down to 2.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Werner Bär
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Blott wrote:
[...] or even the Gollum card in this situation [...] and in the latter case you will be saved the die roll since you didn't play it as a Triple Wild.

From the expanded rules:
Quote:
Gollum
This is a triple Joker symbol card, if the Joker symbols are used for any reason (such as moving on an Activity line or paying for an Event cost) then the die must be rolled by the person who played the card. If the card is discarded (without the Joker symbols being used) then the die is not rolled.

In you're scenario, you're using a joker symbol, so you have to roll the die.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Taylor
United Kingdom
Nottingham
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks again guys, Im going to try and play solo in a bit with three hobbits and see if I can finally get to MD!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Crookedeyeboy wrote:
Thanks again guys, Im going to try and play solo in a bit with three hobbits and see if I can finally get to MD!!

To quote my thoughts on reading this:

What are you going to do in Maryland?
Wait, what? Hobbits in Maryland?
Oh.
Yeah.
I'm tired.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.