"My spoon is too big!"
do you treat it like getting a damaged result?
It is similar to damage, but not exactly the same. I simply follow the procedure at p. 4, top left column: the unfit pilot loses all weapons (not Pods), and can't attack or suppress, only evade. The rules don't specify it, but when a Hawkeye becomes unfit I also ignore all the special abilities he has instead of attack (like helping ignoring events, giving bonuses on die rolls, etc). It makes sense to me that if he is unfit he can't do such things... also, otherwise there'd be no real penalty for him.
However, there are differences between unfit and damaged status. One is that an unfit pilot does not lose situational awareness... so according to the rules it seems that an unfit flight leader can still give situational awareness. I personally houseruled that restriction (unshaken pilot can't give situational awareness) because it seems to make more sense this way.
Also, a damaged aircraft loses the Pod while an unfit pilot doesn't, but, most importantly, the airplane of an unfit pilot can be hit and given the damaged status TWICE before being destroyed, whereas
the damaged airplane will be destroyed at its next damaged result.
... and now, time for me to go and attack the major airfield in Lybia 1984. That's a tough one, but I have to take it down at all costs because its improvement on the other targets is just too good for them...