Fighting Retreat: Carthaginian troops fall back to their ships.
Play before combat rolls in a battle involving a Carthaginian army in a port space.
-3 to Carthaginian combat roll, but the number of CU's you must retreat is reduced by three.
Literally speaking, the card doesn't seem to require a naval retreat, but that literal translation appears to go against the "spirit" of the card.
The event does not require a naval retreat though if defeated in a port space you may not have a choice. i.e. the literal ruling is correct. Basically the event allows Carthage to save some troops at the cost of probably losing the battle.
Glad you responded, Wray. Just picked up the 2nd edition, and it is very nice. I gave up on expecting mounted maps years ago.
Agree. Very happy to have the mounted map, very pleased with how the 2nd edition came out.