Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Lords of Vegas» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reorganization With Merged Casinos Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael J
United States
Folsom
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's say Casino A reorganizes by re-rolling all of its dice on Player 1's turn. Then let's say Casino B, which is adjacent to A, remodels on Player 2's turn, therefore merging with Casino A. Can Player 2 call for a reorganization of Casino A, re-rolling only the new dice that were added from Casino B (and which were not rolled previously)? Dice from Casino A would be static during the reorganization. I am aware of the one-roll per die per turn rule regarding reorganizations. But the rule doesn't seem to preclude reorganizing with dice from a previously un-merged casino which had not yet re-organized during the turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Waltier
United States
Puyallup
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Edit: I removed my comment because I re-read the OP and I did not answer your question.

My reading of this is that you cannot reorganize the newly joined casino in the same turn that you reorganized the part that was a different casino. Every reorg action requires all the dice to be re-rolled, but you cannot roll some of the dice again, so you cannot reorg that casino that turn.

Then again, I have always played where you can reorg as much as you want as long as you can afford it. Why not?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
quohog the great
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
you may only reorg a dice once per turn. so if player 1 reorgs casion A then those dice can't be rerolled (unless there is a boss tie). on player 2's turn he can reorg casino A or B before or after the merge. in many cases its better to reorg casino B to get a higher number before the merge but after the merge you if there was a reorg you can't reorg again.

The only way a dice can be rolled more than once per turn is if there is a tie for Boss.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Selinker
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mjacobsca wrote:
Let's say Casino A reorganizes by re-rolling all of its dice on Player 1's turn. Then let's say Casino B, which is adjacent to A, remodels on Player 2's turn, therefore merging with Casino A. Can Player 2 call for a reorganization of Casino A, re-rolling only the new dice that were added from Casino B (and which were not rolled previously)? Dice from Casino A would be static during the reorganization. I am aware of the one-roll per die per turn rule regarding reorganizations. But the rule doesn't seem to preclude reorganizing with dice from a previously un-merged casino which had not yet re-organized during the turn.


It seems like you might be misinterpreting the word "turn" here. A turn involves drawing a card, resolving its effects, and then one player taking his actions. So on Player 1's turn, he reorganizes his casino, and then (possibly after more actions) ends his turn. It's now Player 2's turn. Whatever Player 1 did on his turn is irrelevant to whatever Player 2 decides to do on her turn. All dice are newly "un-rolled" at the beginning of Player 2's turn. So if Player 2 merges Casino A into Casino B and reorgs, Player 2 must reroll all dice in the new Casino A+B.

Mike
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikael Lells
Sweden
Malmö
Skåne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mike.
Why don't you make a distinction between "Turn" and "Playerturn" in the rules.
This is a common mistake in many rules, it's not hard to put the word "player", before the word "turn", you see i did it just now.
Good luck with your rules writing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Carter
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Because it's superfluous. General terminlogy is one players turn = "turn" and every player having one turn each = "round"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jono D
Australia
Melbourne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Q that I'll tack onto this:

If I reorganize a casino, then I remodel that casino to that of a color next to it to merge the casinos. Can I then reorganize this new bigger casino by only rolling the dice that wasn't reorganized initially or can you simply never reorganize a casino that contains dice that has already been reorganized? (Even if it's only a subset of thedice that have already been reorganized)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Amick
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Stormzors wrote:
Q that I'll tack onto this:

If I reorganize a casino, then I remodel that casino to that of a color next to it to merge the casinos. Can I then reorganize this new bigger casino by only rolling the dice that wasn't reorganized initially or can you simply never reorganize a casino that contains dice that has already been reorganized? (Even if it's only a subset of thedice that have already been reorganized)


Reorganizing a casino involves rolling all of its dice. You don't get to pick and choose.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.